15 East

I am very excited to be going to 15 East this evening for a birthday dinner. I love Japanese and especially good sashimi. I rarely get it because my husband hates anything raw. Thankfully, he’s recently caught on to the fact that he likes sushi that is cooked – panko shrimp being his favorite. So, I was able to con him into thinking he’ll be just fine this evening.

15 East feels rare and exotic with its small size and stark decor – I guess you could say it actually feels Japanese!  The chef, Masato Shimizu, is a very talented sushi chef. He cures his own gari (ginger) and produces high-class, simple sushi in the classic Japanese style. There are no tricked-out maki rolls with kiwi or kobe beef on his menu, but what the chef does do is let the quality ingredients shine. You can get seven varieties of silver fish on the à la carte menu.

Finally, I will have myself a lot of sushi and sashimi this evening – I’m just hoping that there is SOMETHING cooked on the menu for my hubby…and maybe even some fancy Japanese  birthday dessert for our best friend…
15 East 15th Street
1 Comment

Filed under entertain, food & drink, restaurants

One response to “15 East

  1. Hello from one NYC foodie to another. :o) Great blog you have here…I like it a lot and will be bookmarking you

Leave a Reply

