Beef Stroganoff

I grew up eating my mom’s version of beef stroganoff nearly every week – my 6 siblings and I could never get enough. I decided to make it for MM to try over the long Labor Day weekend. We went to the grocery store to get the ingredients – as I picked up ketchup, sour cream, worcestershire, cream of mushroom soup, and so on, MM became more and more nervous about what I was going to cook for him – especially since I had been raving about it all day and he knew that meant he better like it.
I made it exactly as my mom always did, which is a little different than the standard recipe. It was delicious, and it took me right back to being a kid and scarfing down helping after helping. MM thought the worcestershire flavor was “interesting” but he swears he liked it. Maybe next time I make him a milder version and add more flavor for myself afterwards.
Ingredients:
1/2lb ground beef
1/2 chopped sweet onion
2 large sliced portabella mushrooms
3Tbsp worcestshire
2Tbsp ketchup
1/2 16oz carton sour cream
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 package De Cecco Egg pasta
Recipe:
boil water for pasta
cook ground beef in salted pan
add chopped onion and mushroom until tender
add worcestershire and let flavors mix
add cream of mushroom and sour cream and stir
add ketchup
let sauce simmer on low heat
add handful of corse sea salt to boiling water
add pasta and cook till al dente (5 min)
drain pasta and add to sauce pan
mix until pasta is covered
serve and enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under cook

Leave a Reply

