Christmas Tree, oh, Christmas Tree

MM and I got our Christmas tree last night in honor of the Rockefeller tree lighting! I was so excited to visit our tree men on 2nd Avenue between 19th and 20th Streets. MM and I began our tradition in my neighborhood last year, so this was our chance to make it an official tradition. These men are super nice and very sweet. They help you choose your tree (they don’t rush you or get annoyed when you ask to see 20 different trees), they cut off the bad branches, and they wrap it all up to make it easy to carry home. The kind gentleman even cut an extra piece off of the trunk and gave it to me with the special hint of getting it slightly wet and placing it on the radiator to make the entire apartment smell like pine. With a jolly “Merry Christmas!” exchange, we were on our way!

We got a nice 4 foot pine – simple and compact – perfect for a one-bedroom. MM carried it home on his shoulder – a trend that began two years ago when he cut down his first American Christmas tree with my family in Pittsburgh. We got it all set up in the corner on a silver pedestal to give it some more height without increasing its circumference. I put on the lights, the balls and a angel on top. Before we knew it, we were done and Christmas had come!

We have less than two weeks with our lovely little pine since we’re going to Italy on the 14th, so I’m going to make sure I enjoy every minute of it. It’s a torture to get so excited by the presence of something that represents a season full of love, joy, family, parties, and fun – when it has to come down, it brings a slight depressing feeling.

BUT, we won’t think about that right now! I’m off to see my tree!
Leave a comment

Filed under entertain

Leave a Reply

