202 – fashion/food/faux pas?

To me, fashion and food go hand in hand. I believe that both are an expression of art and a huge portion of a person’s lifestyle. 202 in Chelsea Markets is a good example of how these two worlds can collide.

202 is a restaurant inside of a high-end store for clothes, housewares, and antiques from Paris and the South of France. The idea was London designer, Nicole Farhi – she also has a store in Notting Hill with the same name. The menu leans British and Mediterranean, with dishes like warm goat cheese salad with salty prosciutto, sweet figs, and toasted pistachios to English favorites like fish and chips. Their signature cocktails include honey mojitos, which have conjured up quite the talk around town.

From what I can gather from others who have been there, they either love it or they hate it. I guess some people don’t want to browse the blouses while chowing down on a salad. To each is own!


I will be going to 202 this evening to meet up with my ‘pumas’ – I am sure I will enjoy one of those mojitos and maybe try a dish, but in this economy I’m likely not to buy a Nicole Farhi item. At least this restaurant/store concept gets you for one or the other!


75 Ninth Avenue in Chelsea Markets
@ 16th St.
646-638-1173

Leave a comment

Filed under entertain, food & drink

Leave a Reply

