33 Variations – Jane Fonda is back…on Broadway!

If you’re like me at all, you love Broadway but for some reason it seems unaccessible and too expensive. The prices at the movie theaters suddenly seem like chump change when you realize a show on Broadway or even OFF-Broadway typically go for $200 or more!

When my mom was here, though, I wanted to try to offer her some show options in case she wanted to splurge with me. She and I used to go to shows when we would visit NYC when I was younger, so they have always been a special thing for us. In my research, I found the expected Wicked, Disney this – Disney that, etc, but I was pleasantly surprised and excited about a new offering on Broadway: 33 Variations with Jane Fonda and Colin Hanks.

This show is a story about a mother coming to terms with her daughter, and a composer coming to terms with his genius. The 200 years that separates these two individuals, they share an obsession that might erase all time differences. Music, drama and memory bring you from present-day NYC to 19th-century Austria. The play is written and directed by Moises Kaufman who is also the authur of The Laramie Project and the director of I Am My Own Wife. The play stars 2 time Oscar winner Jane Fonda and gives Colin Hanks an opportunity to step out from his father’s film career.

In the end, my mom and I had a very full schedule, so we weren’t able to make it to a show. But, next time she’s here, I think we will be happy to pay $200 each to enjoy 33 Variations, Jane Fonda, and another special mother-daughter experience.

Leave a comment

Filed under entertain

Leave a Reply

