manicure day…

I am going to get a manicure today. I went through about five months of enjoying my nails el naturale…but, for some reason, as the tan fades and the outfits get darker and more rich, I always desire to have my nails painted a darker shade as well. I went for the first time this season two weeks ago with my sister-in-law who was visiting from Milan.

manicure

She loves to get manicures and pedicures when she visits us in NYC because it is such a difficult task to accomplish in Italy. To get your nails done in Milan, you have to make an appointment weeks in advance at one of the few full-service spas. They are only open till about 6, so women are rushing to get their nails done during their lunch break, leaving work early to make their appointment, or waiting months for the rare available appointment on a Saturday. THEN, it costs at least twice as much in Euros and requires multiple treatments and time to be worthwhile. To top it all off…they don’t even have nail dryers, so you’re stuck walking around like a zombie for an hour hoping that you won’t have to unzip your pants to go to the bathroom or grab something out of your purse…this, we all know, is impossible.

Talk about unmotivating…

Granted…I can’t tell you how many AWFUL manicures and pedicures I have had at plenty of the millions of foreign-owned nail salons in NYC, but at least $10 is a lot easier to swallow than $25.

Heesoo_Beauty_Nail_Salon_Spa_NYC1

Today, I think I will go to a small Korean-owned nail salon on 3rd Avenue and 15th Street – I’ve been there before and I think I was happy with the result and the service…I will certainly let you know!

Pamper time!

4 Comments

Filed under travel & leisure

4 responses to “manicure day…

  1. I always seem to have a hard time on deciding which nail design to use, sometimes it can take me hours to decide. I usually try changing my nail designs at least twice a month.

  2. I always seem to have a hard time on deciding which nail design to use, sometimes it can take me hours to decide. I usually try changing my nail designs at least twice a month.

  3. alexismaida

    yeah – I am not one to go very fancy with designs typically. I love to get a manicure, though! My go-to colors are “really red” (for when I’m feeling sexy), “wicked” (for when I’m feeling dark or mysterious), or “intimate” (for when I’m feeling more innocent and clean) – all be Essie.

  4. This blog post hits the spot. I’ve been craving for some excellent information and finally discovered it right here. I’ve been browsing around the entire morning to find a good post to tell me what I need to know, but I have determined like 34 other blogs that just gave me senseless information!

Leave a Reply

