Cease & De-Cyst…

I am VERY limited in my typing for the next week because I had surgery on my right wrist to remove a ganglion cyst. I had my surgery at the Manhattan Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital. My doctor was Dr. Steven Lee – in case anyone needs to have an Orthopedic Surgeon – he’s fantastic! They were very nice to me since it was my first ever surgery, IV, anesthetic experience. I was put fully under for the surgery and now I have a cast covering my stitches until next tuesday. Being that I am right-handed, this causes quite a few issues for me! You really don’t realize how much you use your fingers and thumbs until you can’t!

since I had never heard of a ganglion cyst until I noticed a bump on the inside of my wrist….and after an MRI to make sure it wasn’t someting worse…found out it was a cyst that i could remove, I think I should share the definition: 

ganglion cyst is a swelling that often appears on or around joints and tendons in the hand or foot. The size of the cyst can vary over time. It is most frequently located around the wrist and on the fingers. Ganglion cysts are idiopathic, but reflect a variation in normal joint or tendon sheath function. Cysts near joints are connected to the joint and the leading theory is that a type of check valve forms that allows fluid out of the joint, but not back in. The cyst contains a clear thick fluid. They are most often found around the wrist joint which accounts for 80% of all ganglion cysts.

some people call them Bible Bumps because you can burst them by hitting them with a large book (perhaps a Bible?) – after watching this video, I would go for surgery any day – especially since they just return if you burst them:

I found my cyst a few weeks before my wedding and my doc didn’t want to have me all bandaged up for my big day so we waited till I could take some more vacation and not need to work on the computer…………ummm this blog doesnt count and I’ll be taking a few days off from blogging till next week…my left hand is tired 🙂  

Just wanted to keep you all up to date – sorry for the unpleasant  topic – maybe it will educate someone!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

5 Comments

Filed under etc

5 responses to “Cease & De-Cyst…

  1. Damn, that sound’s so easy if you think about it.

  2. Hey, ok, I get it, I guess – but does this really work?

  3. Bina~.^

    Thanks for sharing. I will have the surgery in 2 weeks too. I wanted to know a bit more about it so I googled. I found out that most ganglion cists occure on women. Hmmm, kind of suckes. First the period and now this; anything else mother nature would like to throw our way. [.\/.]
    Anyhow, I was suprized to read that you had a cast on your wrist. i was told that it will bee all stiched up and I am suposed to take the bandage off at night and let it bread for faster healing. Please let me know how yours worked out. Do you have any pain? My is on top of my wrist and it is huge. I got it from overdoing it with sports and overstressing my wrist. I had it now for 14 years and it would come and go, but now it got fat and decided to stay :(.

    • alexismaida

      Yeah – I did have to wear a cast for 10 days. Then, I had to wear a bandage and a wrist brace and go to physical therapy for a few weeks because the scar tissue is pretty tough and it can ruin your range of motion in your wrist. It wasn’t a bad procedure, but it was a pain to heal…of course, it was better than the alternative of having a huge bump on my wrist. I would do it again. don’t be worried.

      • Bina ~.^

        Thanks. After reading your blog the first time I was thinking to call them up and cancel it. But I will stick to it and lets hope it turns out to be painless. It is painless now; isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

