Strand bookstore…carry me away

Yesterday, in the midst of the wind that could freeze your face to the point where you think it may actually fall off, my husband and I went to the Strand bookstore on Broadway & 12th Street.

Although we do both love books, we were on a mission to find some inexpensive, attractive books to add to our growing library in our living room. Of course our intent would be to also read them or look through the ones that are primarily  images, but we really want to stock up in our library more for our interior design interest at the moment.

Strand is the perfect place to accomplish all of our needs: good content, good prices, and attractive cover. We were very excited to see the huge stock of rare books with the kind of cover that I grew up with in my parents’ library. The kind that you can buy in a set by one author…

Pricing at Strand is also very helpful – you can buy used in great condition at a discounted price. Even the new books are less than you would spend online or at Barnes & Noble.

Another fun part of the Strand experience is the atmosphere of the store. All of the patrons love books and you can hear such inspiring conversations about people who have found that they have the same odd interest in a subject. The staff is very helpful and will recommend their favorite books to you. It feels like you’ve walked into a store where time stands still and the written word and images are carrying everyone off to another world for just a little while…we could all use that sometimes…I like to pretend to be Audrey Hepburn in Funny Face

4 Comments

Filed under entertain, travel & leisure

4 responses to “Strand bookstore…carry me away

  1. What a wonderful blog! Please continue this great work I will be sure to check back regularly…

  2. I simply wanted to add a comment here to say thanks for you very nice ideas. Blogs are troublesome to run and time consuming therefore I appreciate when I see well written material. Your time isn’t going to waste with your posts. Thanks so much and carry on You’ll defintely reach your goals! have a great day!

    • alexismaida

      Thank you so much for the encouragement – it does take energy and time to blog. I use it as a motivation to continually expand my horizons and interests in NYC – my home and my favorite place in the world. I am happy that others can follow and possibly benefit from my efforts!

Leave a Reply

